Total newb surfing question…

Total Posts: 33

Joined 2007-11-16

PM

I have always wanted to surf, unfortunately now that I live in Finland there are less than ideal surfing conditions…but I do on occasion vacation in the Canary Islands which does have pretty good conditions…

My question is this: Once I (someday) have learned and gotten good at kiting with a board stapless, will that mean I have aquired some degree of the skill needed to surf?

I appreciate the input! Cheers!

Total Posts: 120

Joined 2006-01-20

PM

No, not really. Surfing is generally slower, so your wave reading skills have to be better. the take off is a big part of surfing and is something you won’t experience kiting. It usually workss better the other way around—surfing to wave kiting.

With kiting, the kite supports or balances you, so you are more stable. Also the paddling and duck-diving skills can’t be aquired through kiting.

Sorry about that, I’m sure it wasn’t the answer that you were hoping for.

Signature

Its all about the adventure and stoke!

Joined 2007-11-16

PM

Bummer, your right it wasn’t… Heheh, oh well!

Do you have any advice for someone who wants to learn what they can in a non surf environment so that when they are in a surf environment they can progress more quickly in a limited timespan?(Other than the getting from lying to surfing position) Would wakeboarding behind a boat strapless at the lowest speed possible help at all?  Thanks man, Cheers!

Total Posts: 120

Joined 2006-01-20

PM

Skateboarding would help. Otherwise, just have fun trying. Surfing is a progression, and beginners are just as stoked as the good surfers. Kind of like kiting, no matter what your level, there is always a reason to be stoked about the sport.

My other advice, use a mini-mal type board, or even check out S.U.P.

Cheers,

Signature

Its all about the adventure and stoke!

Joined 2007-11-16

PM

Ok, thanks for the info Gareth, Cheers!

Total Posts: 244

Joined 2007-11-20

PM