Razor Setup
Posted: 12 August 2013 12:42 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2008-11-09

Ok, I’ve been riding the Razor for 3 years now and love it, but I’m wondering, when I try other kites I can keep the bar in closer and with less throw and still have solid pull. It seems like with the Razor it’s sweet spot is about 10 inches off the chicken loop, which is fine, except when I go to loop my arms get extended out too.  I’m mainly doing backroll kiteloops. I typically ride the smallest kite possible if I’m doing loops, but I have to be severely underpowered to keep the bar close in and not get overextended.

That and I find it pretty difficult to find the sweet spot when unhooking (which I’m still just getting down so it could be me) but I have better luck with the Cypher.

Any suggestions?

Posted: 12 August 2013 06:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  117
Joined  2007-03-19

Interesting observations!

I can’t say that I personally pay too much attention to how far in or out the bar is when I do kiteloops is. I tend to focus more on where my hand is on the bar, and then just whether I pull extremely hard (in tight), or moderately.

I will say that for me the Razor loops best when it has a little to no trim taken out - 0-2” for me works well. As the power increases so of course does the pressure and the tendency to have the bar further out. I find your best bet here is to concentrate hard on reefing the bar to start the loop.

As you come around through your spin/roll, it’s pretty natural to let the bar out a bit as you uncoil your body for landing. This action helps you two fold - 1) gets you in place to stomp the landing, but also 2) sheets out the kite, and allows it to climb through the window and catch you for landing (as opposed to powering through and creating even more horizontal momentum for epic crashes!).