Help with Mako purchase
Posted: 03 August 2013 03:43 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-08-03

I am new to kiteboarding, taking lessons, and beginning to consider new gear.  I received the recommendation from Kitty Hawk Kites that I seriously consider a Mako King.  Before this, my instructor was saying that I should purchase a Cabrihna Xcaliber 138 twin tip.  The Xcaliber is the board that I am learning on.  I am 6’3” inches tall and 200 pounds (91 kilograms) - therefore, I am not a small guy.  Conditions here in Southeastern North Carolina are riding all in the ocean so in the surf and some chop.  Typically, 16 to 18 knots sometimes better.  I am interested in getting feedback on getting a Mako King verses a Mako 150 plus purchasing a Mako 140 as my higher wind fun board.  I discussed all this with my instructor today, and he said I might as well get a surfboard if I was considering a Mako King.  I will be certain to demo the Makos along with the two kites I am considering, which are the 14m and 10m versions of the Cabrihna Switchblade and Slingshot Rally.

Thanks for your insight!

Posted: 03 August 2013 10:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2013-06-25

Hi NCWater,