Ready for my first Mako.  What size?
Posted: 13 November 2011 02:54 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2011-11-13

I started kiting this year.  I’m a beginner freestyle male rider, 5’9, 150lbs.
You can check out my riding level in these Youtube videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNxwJG8OiqY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IsNSrJHo5hQ

Just starting small jumps, trying toe side transitions. 
I ride a twin tip Cabrinha Rival 135/42, and fly a Cabrinha SB 11m in the Boston area.
I’m not crazy about the Rival in the chop.  I tend to get a lot of splash in the face and sometimes I ‘trip’ in the waves (as in the videos).
Based on everything I’ve read and heard, the Mako sounds great.  I’m ready to buy one.
I just don’t know what size to choose (140 or 150).
Will the 140 be enough of a size up from my 135 square twin tip? (my 135 feels small in chop and when underpowered)
Perhaps the 150 is a better choice?  What are the trade offs?

Would love to hear from experienced riders who can really tell me what the trade offs are for the 2 sizes.

Thanks!

Christophe

Posted: 13 November 2011 07:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  462
Joined  2006-06-15

First on the Video did I see shorts over a wetsuit? Is this to hide incontinence pants?
BTW
The mako range are superb for eating chop carving, waves, going big and speed. They are not the right board for freestyle tricks. You square twinny is the job for that.
150 or 140 at 75kg My natural choice would be to go 140 unless you wanted the mako to be a light wind board to curse ,carve and play in the waves then 150.
The 150 will be to big as an all round board though will work well with your twinny as a low to high wind combi

Posted: 13 November 2011 10:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2011-11-13

Thanks!