Rise 15m LW Jumping question

Total Posts: 79

Joined 2009-02-20

PM

I’ve been riding ‘09 rises for a few years now, and had a 14m as my big kite.  I bought a 2010 rise 15LW a couple of months ago and am having a really tough time dialing in jumps.  I want to love this kite, and I like everything else about it, but i am just not able to get close to the height i could get on my 14m in the same wind.  I’m a solid intermediate, 180lbs, riding 135x41 twintip.  I also demoed a 10m razor this summer, and i think this 15m rise feels very similar, so i’d welcome comments from razor users.  Now i understand that i’m just not gonna get the jump performance i have on my 10m in 25mph winds (25-30 footers), but it seems it should be at least in line with what i could do on the 14m in the same winds. 

I think part of the issue is that this kite pulls harder while it turns (the rise sort of pivots without much power and then re-engages), so it’s a little tougher to set a good edge, but i’m leaning onto the board as much as possible.  I’ve tried a bunch of different things with positioning the kite, though i haven’t messed with the attachement points yet.  On my ‘09 kites i would just start somewhere in the 10:30-11:00 range turn back (quick turn, but i didn’t need to really crank the bar) towards 12:30-1:00, then back to 12:00, and up you go.  when i do the same on the new kite, i get a fairly vertical trajectory, but i seem to only go up maybe a little past half the height that i was getting on my old 14m.  it seems the best results i’ve had so far come from starting with the kite lower, maybe around 10:00 and really cranking the bar and sending the kite just past 12.  that seems to give me the hardest yank, but it’s more of a 45 degree trajectory instead of vertical.

So, who’s had better success jumping this kite (or some of the larger Razors), and what are you doing?

Thanks,
jason

Total Posts: 44

Joined 2007-07-09

PM