Another 12m One Review

Total Posts: 51

Joined 2006-01-10

PM

We finally had a day of wind, and I’ve been able to have a propper session on the one what follows are my impressions. I’ve been kitesurfing for 6 years, fairly competent, but not much for tricks, I’m 150lbs soaking wet after lunch, and the wind on this particular day was about 14-17 knots.

-Turning: I have done no mods to the set up other than to take off the line extensions. I didn’t find that the kite turns particularly slow while powered, but while overhead at 12:00 in a turn it does slow, and then accelerate as the power comes back on. Not necessarily a problem, but requires a little change in technique. The kite turns a lot like a Peter Lynn Phantom. I’ve flown friends several times and it reminds me a lot of that feel,..not bad, but different than a “c” for sure.

-Lift: What would have been 1/4 second little hops off waves were 2 second very floaty jumps. Not necessarily much higher, but MUCH more time in the air. With other jumps where I “sent ” the kite, I went much higher, and stayed in the air MUCH longer than with a regular “c” kite. I can’t quanitfy this, but it was major difference. Sheeting in or out can really effect the time spent in the air as well.

-Power: OK, unless you ride in one type of condition, this is not going to be your one kite quiver. I’ll be pretty set with my Bronco 14 and 12m One , Surf Board, and Outlaw. The kite pulls well at around 15 knots, but I couldn’t make much upwind in what I would estimate to be 12 or less.
The kite seems to react well to speed, and I may have to hang up the good ol Outlaw in favor of a board with less rocker for those lighter wind days.

-Re-Launce: No problem re-launching. Wouldn’t have crashed it except that I got in behind a cliff in an unusual wind direction, and the kite dropped out of the air in turbulent rotor (any kite would have) Luckily it didn’t roll around the bridles, and relaunch was pretty much imediate.