Session 2 Harness

Total Posts: 434

Joined 2006-01-11

PM

mossman - 07 July 2009 05:07 AM

Evan is there anyone that can re/re the webbing on my 08 harness ive seem to have cut into it by to much usage - the harness still looks newish but….. i would hate to have to throw it away because of that.

Brian,

I’m sure you can find a canvas or sail shop somewhere in Vancouver that can stitch a new strap on.

Cheers,

Evan

Signature

Ocean Rodeo, US Sales

Hyperflex Wetsuits, US Sales

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2009-07-08

PM

How close to a seat harness is it with the straps? 

I’m just starting out, and need a seat harness, but from what I hear, I’ll want a waist harness in no time. 
Is it “seat” enough for a noobie?

Joined 2006-01-11

PM

Johnny, that’s a great question.  The choice of a waist harness vs a seat harness really boils down to personal preference rather than skill level.

There are many people who learn in a waist, and many long time experts who ride in a seat. In general, a waist harness gives you a higher hook position and frees you up, which is commonly preferred for riding surf, but at the same time many of the best freestylers in the world also a prefer a waist harness.  Riders who prefer a seat harness like the extra support and ” locked ” feel, and many people feel that riding with a seat harness is easier on your back.

The upside to all this confusion is that you don’t need to make a choice if you go with the Session. With the straps removed, it’ a very simple, true waste harness. Add the leg straps, and you can then keep the harness positioned as a waist harness (up high) but get the added benefit of the support, or you can lower the harness down over your hips and ride it in the same position as a dedicated seat harness.

Cheers,

Evam

Signature

Ocean Rodeo, US Sales

Total Posts: 265

Joined 2006-09-04

PM

tongue laugh ...

Signature

I love to Kiteboard

Joined 2006-01-11

PM

Brian, just give HQ a call and ask them.

Cheers,

Evan