8M Rise tuning for surf help

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2009-03-02

PM

Hi ive had two fun surf sessions on my new Rise 8m. Kite flew great right out of the box but i could use some help dialing it in for surf

Conditions: 20-25 mph side-on, gusty
surf: 3-5’ mushy
Weight: 125 Lbs.
Board: my trusty 5’6” North RocketFish
harness: hooked in waste

1. Kite has Hindenburged twice while parking the kite overhead to pull the depower cleat. After the hindenburging the relaunch in 3-5 surf was outstanding! ive been kitesurfing on waves for a about three years but ive never experienced a hindenburg in winds this high….did i have it too overpowered?

2. bar pressure is much lighter than im used to. this could be my recent switch to waist harness. but is there a way i can increase it?

3. best way to switch leash from suicide to self landing while out kitesurfing?

4. what bridal positions are everyone using for hooked-in surf? un-hooked surf?

Total Posts: 516

Joined 2008-04-13

PM

Hi RodansWings,
1st of all, welcome to the crew! Great to hear you had good fun with the 8m. Let me try to answer some of your questions.

the 1st question, it seems to depend on what kite you’re coming from, some riders have the tendency to pull the bar up to a bar pressure they’re used to. It could very well be you have overpowered the kite. Due to the venturi system on these kites, you actually can fly with it overpowered, as it won’t stall that quick. The venturi system keeps the kite from stalling but it needs flow going on around it. Meaning, if you’re not going fast, keep the kite going by sinussing it. The Venturi is useless if the flow stops, meaning you’re way overpowered compared to other kites and there won’t be any reason for the kite to stay flying. Immediate depowering will help sometimes.