2009 Rise 12m low-end

Total Posts: 19

Joined 2006-09-11

PM

I’m looking for a kite that can do the 10-12knots well.

I am 150lbs and currently ride the OR One 12m. I’ve been riding mostly gusty choppy waters for the past two years, but also some low-tide flat water. I would say my water skills are intermediate at this point but there is much to learn. I also landboard in late fall and snowkite in the winter and I own 9m and 7m One kites. I love OR gear and would like to stick with it.

I can make my 12m One work in mostly 12knots and above. It can handle some lulls to 10 knots but anything below that and the kite becomes very hard to turn. I know what the 12m One can do and can milk it for all it’s got. But really wish I can ride a kite in 10-12 knots which can still turn nicely and provide some grunt to at least hold my ground. I ride a 144 cm CrazyFly all around board.

I would appreciate if folks that flew the 12m can comment on the low-end ability. I understand the 2009 Rise has some new features that supposedly help with the low-end.

Another feature which I am curious about is the reverse launch. I use this feature in winter and hopefully the Rise can do the reverse launch as easy as the One.

Thanks,
—Paul

Total Posts: 265

Joined 2006-11-15

PM

The 2009 Rise 12 will have more or less similar low-end as the one 2007 12. It is heaps more fun though to use the rise. Turns way faster, lower bar pressure and way more direct.

Reverse launch by pulling the 2 steering lines is a piece of cake.

Total Posts: 108

Joined 2007-01-24

PM

As wouter said, the 12m Rise will have a similar low end but turn faster and have more direct steering…which I think may give it an edge on the low end. After the flying the One which I really enjoyed, you will love the Rise.

Total Posts: 75

Joined 2007-04-23

PM

low end on the 12 is insane. had one for a few months and ended up going with the 10 as my big kite. still have plenty of low end with 10. i weigh 170lb.